I, Vega Sankur am elected as the President of ATASC along with three new board members and a Chief Financial Officer on Jan 18, 2009. Here is the ATASC Board for the coming year.

Hasan Akyol – OCTAA President and representative
Elcim Alpan – TALL representative
Leyla Cohen – VATAN VP and representative
Volkan Duygun – LATAA President and representative
Tuba Ertas – ATASC-SD President and representative
Metin Mangir – ATASC Vice President
Vega Sankur – ATASC President
Ergun Tamer – Chief Financial Officer
Burcu Tansu – Corporate Secretary
Ayse Sule Ulubay – Member at large – Communication
Asuman Yilmaz – Member at large – Special Events

We are all very excited to serve as volunteers to ATASC community whether in ATASC or in a chapter. We had our first meeting on feb 1, 2009. Hafize Turgut and Naime Berkoz of TALL and Onur Bakir of LATAA joined this important meeting. We all agreed on mutual support and total cooperation between chapters themselves and chapters and ATASC. We developed our 2009-2010 goals in this spirit and agreed on the division of activities that are complementary to best serve you. We will present our plans shortly as soon as we review it.

One of our good news is the re-opening of the LATAA school on February 7. ATASC currently has 4 chapter schools (San Diego, Orange County, Los Angeles and Ventura) to educate our next generation in Turkish Language and Culture. The volunteers at each chapter put their hearts and souls into these schools. I hope that you will join us in this effort by enrolling your children and/or volunteering for these schools.

One of the goals we set is to keep you, ATASC community, better informed of ATASC issues as well as happenings in your local chapters. You will be hearing from us periodically in joint communications with your chapter presidents.

Vega Sankur
ATASC President